Arctic Cat Discussions about Arctic Cat ATVs.

2002 500 Auto Defect

Search this Thread

Old 01-08-2002, 10:07 AM
Trailblazer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hello to all. I'm new to the ATC world and am a proud owner of a 2002 500 Auto. I wanted the awsome "I" but the dealer made me such a good deal I went with the non-I. ($1000 off sticker).

I want to complement you on a great site that has really helped me come up to speed on the world of ATVing.

Let me share with you a defect on the 500 Autos and possibly all other Autos. There is a 1 & 1/4 inch diameter rubber transmission cooling hose that butts right up against the exhaust. Mine burned through after only 50 miles. I showed the dealer and the units in the showroom were the same starting to heat-harden out of the factory.

The fix is this. Get a new hose and trim 1/2 to 3/4" off the end of the hose that connects the main plastic tranny cooling hose on the right side of the engine. This will pull the hose an inch or so away from the exhaust. Also get some foil tape and wrap the hose section exposed to the exhaust. If not fixed water can enter the tranny through the failed hose.

I called the factory and notifed the techs of this flaw. They indicated to me they would present this problem at their next engineering meeting.

I enjoy reading your post and would welcome any replys!

Old 01-08-2002, 02:25 PM
Range Rover

EXCELLENT POST newcatman.

I was impressed when I say they relocated their auto vents up higher. But it figures, just when the "fix" one thing, something else breaks. I will let me dealer know of this, and they (since they're awesome) will call up all their customers with the 2002 autos, and have them brought in for a "dealer recall". As info, this should only affect the 2002 autos, as one of the issues with the older ones was that they didn't go high enough, but I'll verify that.

Old 01-08-2002, 07:14 PM
Range Rover