ATC 3-Wheelers Discussions on ATC 3-Wheelers.

250R Hopups?

Search this Thread

Old 04-05-2004, 08:22 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 250R Hopups?

Hi guys I'm new!

Just a bit of my history: I started riding on a 1984 200M ATC that my dad bought me. I then got into dirt bikes for a while and rode a 1986 CR80. I sold that and got back into a 1983 250R ATC that I still own to this day (but it needs some work). Somewhere in there I owned a Kawasaki Mojave quad for a bit but sold it to buy my first car when I turned 16.

Fast forward 10 years later to today. I just traded client a computer for a 1986 250R ATC. Looking very forward to getting back behind the handle bars and looking to what accessories I may get for it. Do companies still make pipes for them? What are some other power mods a guy can do? I noticed most of the parts are available on eBay which rocks, we had a hard time getting parts back in the day. Once I get riding again I may look at bringing my old 83 back and getting it going again.

Thanks guys!

Old 04-05-2004, 09:11 PM
Pro Rider
Default 250R Hopups?

congrats on the new toy bro![img]i/expressions/face-icon-small-smile.gif[/img] yes you can still get ALOT of parts for the 85-86's. If you want cheap hop ups that will make a diffrence you can notice some things you could consider would be....

1- new pipe. You could consider FMF. They have diffrene types of pipes for diffrent type of riding available for the trikes unlike some other CO.

2- you could get a 1989 CR250 head gasket for it which will raise compression a good amount, or you can take the stock head gasket and take it apart so you have 3 pieces. 2 small ones and 1 big one. you could then use one of the thin pieces and the compression will go up even more from the CR gasket. I have never had trouble with either.

3- two words- UNI FILTER