ATV Racing Discussions on ATV racing.

atv jumping, help needed

Search this Thread

Old 04-15-2010, 10:20 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default atv jumping, help needed

Hello, i have been riding an atv for a few months now. I have a Can am ds450 x.. I am starting to try to learn small jumps and wheelies and need a little help please. for the jumping, i hit the jump and im not standing, i am like squatting leaning more to the back, the problem i have is - i feel like i am getting ok air but once i hit the lip of the jump and am instantly in the air i have a hard time landing with my feet on the pegs. I mean, most of the time im ok, i blip the throttle just before jump, but really theres no room for error on small to medium jumps no time for correction, whenever i get a little more air i feel my feet come down rather hard on the pegs, i must have hit te jmp good yesterday cause i missed the pegs and fell off the atv sideways, i am 170lbs. are you supposed to pull the atv into yourself or hug the gas tank with your thighs? i just cant seem to keep my feet on the pegs, i think its the dynamics of jumpsing but what am i doing wrong.. also, i am trying wheelies, i give it like 40% power and pop the clutch, barely a wheelie, i know im kind of scared to gun it and pop the clutch, how are these things, safe for the most part? can the atv really flip? or is it safe to give it 60 or so percent gas to get it up there, thank you all in advance...

Old 04-16-2010, 10:08 PM
Range Rover