Buying an ATV Questions and suggestions about what to buy, financing, insurance, etc.

TRYIN TO DECIDE WHICH 1

Search this Thread

Old 09-23-2000, 04:30 PM
Trailblazer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

OK I'VE NARROWED MY CHOICES DOWN TO
400 2x4 POLARIS AND THE YAMAHA WARRIOR WHICH ONE WOULD BE THE BEST AS FAR AS ALL AROUND RELIABILITY AND EASE OF OPERATING I'M NEW TO QUADS
SO I'M KINDA STUMPED

Old 09-23-2000, 09:56 PM
Pro Rider
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

To help yourself decide I think you need to decide what kind of riding you'll be doing..lots of mud or boulder patches with maybe some work around the place thrown in like towing a trailer or hauling hunting gear? Or just sport riding on trails with some high speed open XC?
Once you determine that you may have to include other machines in your choices.

Old 10-01-2000, 02:21 PM
Pro Rider

The polaris wins the ease of use, drivability, speed & likely the quality of ride categories. The Yamaha wins in ease of maintanence (the Polaris has zerks to grease), and will likely have a longer life. Parts/repairs are cheaper for the Polaris, though. I think quality wise they are all getting so close, I would pick the one that seems to best suit your riding style & fits you best. If you plan to hunt or work with your machine, and want an auto, be sure it has hi/lo range on it to save the belt on hard use. Just for running around, it doesn't matter much.

Old 10-03-2000, 11:01 PM
Weekend Warrior

a warrior kills a 400 utility machine even if it 2 wheel drive and it has 8 zerks to grease just on the front a-arms and plus i drag raced one and it didnt stand a chance and that was a mud drag so dont even say it has better speed i have a warrior and i love it to death i would not trade it for the world and plus if you like to jump and ride trails and do some mudding go with the warrior trust me

p.s. the warrior also weighs like 100 pounds less so there is no way it will out run a warrior

so choose wisely choose a warriro