Buying an ATV Questions and suggestions about what to buy, financing, insurance, etc.

UTILITY ATV,NEWBIE HELP PLEASE?

Search this Thread

Old 07-12-2005, 07:04 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default UTILITY ATV,NEWBIE HELP PLEASE?

Hi guys,I need advise on what Utility ATV to buy to use mostly for work.I'm a landscaper and ned an ATV to plow snow,skid small logs for firewood and tow a brush cutter mower.I also would like to use it for hunting,ice fishing(in the future)and trail riding.Reliability is the most important thing to me.I don't have any experience riding ATV.I'm 6' and about 210 lbs.if it helps.What are the better brands and models?Is manual or an auto trans better?Are there different types of auto transmissions?I' have heard great things about Hondas,is it deserved?As far as trail riding,I'm more interested in going at a nice steady pace than riding fast.I like vehicles with lots of low end torque,I have a diesel pick-up with a manual trans.Whats a good plow?It also has to work well in cold weather(I don't know if ATV have any cold weather problems)snow and ice.What tires would be best?Thanks for any help,BASIC.

Old 07-12-2005, 08:08 PM
Pro Rider
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

you should look at the 450 foreman manual...450 kodiak auto...500 polaris auto...650 brute force auto

all in the same price range

Old 07-12-2005, 08:15 PM
Pro Rider