Buying an ATV Questions and suggestions about what to buy, financing, insurance, etc.

Buying our first ATVs (30yo in SoCal)

Search this Thread

Old 05-16-2006 | 07:56 PM
|
Trailblazer
Default Buying our first ATVs (30yo in SoCal)

Hey dudes.

My name is Montalvo and I'm looking at purchasing our first ATVs this month. Other than the weekend rentals we've contracted on vacation trips, we're not experienced riders by any standard. I've never ridden a motorcycle neither so I have no experience on any bike whatsoever.

I rode quite a bit from the time I was 13 to 16 but never owned my own bike. I just recently decided to leave the custom car/truck scene and get more out of my weekends than just detailing a car/truck.

After researching quite a few bikes, I'm having difficulty deciding which bike would be most appropriate for me. I understand I'm not getting any younger, but I'm very adventurous and daring. I'd like to get a bike with which I can do some light jumping and can run up competition hill in Glamis (that only real memory I have of a challenging hill). Although I may not be up for such a challenge my first time out, I know that I'll be out there pushing my experience level to the limit (while riding safe of course).

I'm 5'8 and weigh 185 (I mention this because I've read quite a few posts where this is a consideration). Heh, this is starting to sound like a classifieds ad for a 'date'.

Anyway, what do you dudes suggest?

Also, should I look to buy new or used? If used, what should I look out for?

What about maintenance? Should it be taken to a dealer, like a car?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Old 05-16-2006 | 08:50 PM
Extreme Pro Rider
Knows Old ATV Questions!