Buying an ATV Questions and suggestions about what to buy, financing, insurance, etc.

ATV for beach use

Search this Thread

Old 08-08-2006, 02:41 PM
SSB
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default ATV for beach use

Hey -
I'm looking for an ATV that I can use to haul a small sailboat (<500 lbs) on and off the beach. Obviously needs to be good in sand. Any suggestions? I have no experience with these critters.
Thanks
SSB

Old 08-08-2006, 03:08 PM
Pro Rider

Prolly any ute with a hitch on it. >500 is not much for a quad. [img]i/expressions/face-icon-small-wink.gif[/img]

Old 08-08-2006, 05:35 PM
Red Rider
Honda, accept nothing less!
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Normally in sand, you want a very light machine that floats along on the top (look at how minimalist sand rails are!). One would not normally deliberately choose a heavy utility quad for the sand. But in your case, you are hauling a load and you need a trailer hitch and solid rear axle. And, sand provides a lot of drag, so you are going to need some big horsepower. I think my Honda Rancher 350 would do the job, but a Honda Foreman 500 would be even better. These are no frills basic manual transmission 4wd machines.

Tires will be more important than anything in the sand! Some quads come with balooney stock tires that are terrible out on the trail, but do well in sand when aired down. Choice of trailer tires (something fat that you can air down) will be important too!

Old 08-11-2006, 03:57 PM
Pro Rider

This is one area where I can somewhat agree with ReconRanger. Light quads are good in the sand and the sport bikes rule. But since you are using it to work, I'd stay with either a small to midsize utility or a hybrid quad (hybrids being a crossover between sport and utility such as a Yamaha Wolverine). As far as qualified utilities go for your specific application, I'd look at the following

Suzuki Eiger
Honda Rancher
Yamaha Wolverine

Old 08-12-2006, 02:09 AM
Trailblazer