Buying an ATV Questions and suggestions about what to buy, financing, insurance, etc.

NEWBIE question about buying new ATV

Search this Thread

Old 01-22-2008, 07:19 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default NEWBIE question about buying new ATV

I am new to ATV's. I live in Southern Utah, and am about to purchase one. I have decided on the Sportsman 500 EFI (or maybe the 500 EFI touring). My question is this: Can 2 people ride on the 500 efi? First, let me state the obvious. I know this model is technically only designed for one person, and I guess they warn not to let 2 people ride on it because the ATV will be off balance? However, a few of my other friends have told me they let their girlfriend/wife/whoever ride on it with them and they feel its safe, and its ok. I do have a girlfriend which is why I want the ability to ride 2 people. Is it worth spending the extra $$$ for the 500 EFI touring ??? Do all you people on this forum ever allow another person to ride on your ATV with you, and if you do, do you feel safe/unsafe doing so? Is it a responsible/irresponsible thing to do? Let me make something clear too. I am not a dare devil, I do not take risks, no stunts, no show-offs. I only want the ATV for casual trail-riding. I would occasionally go exploring, but only with myself on the ATV. Anyone's input and opinion is welcome. I will spend the extra money on the TOURING model if neccessary. (I weigh 175 lbs, my GF weighs about 140.)

Old 01-22-2008, 08:22 PM
Red Rider
Honda, accept nothing less!
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

If I needed to ride 2-up, I would get a side-by-side....with a roll cage!

Old 01-22-2008, 08:58 PM
Pro Rider

Yes riding 2 people on a 1 person atv is very irresponsible. Get a 2 seater if you want to ride 2. Besides a touring will blow away a 1 person atv on the trails in Utah!

Old 01-22-2008, 09:26 PM
Extreme Pro Rider
Mopar Man!