Buying an ATV Questions and suggestions about what to buy, financing, insurance, etc.

Complete nOOb

Search this Thread

Old 02-19-2008, 12:51 AM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Complete nOOb

Hello,

I'm a complete and utter nOOb when it comes to the world of ATVs. I recently decided, though, that it would be fun to take this up perhaps as a weekend hobby for now, hey, we all start somewhere right?

Thing is, I have no idea what to look for. I'm gravitating towards the purchase of an older machine, perhaps a yamaha or honda.

Like I said, this will not be used for work, hauling, racing, or serious use. It will be used, casually, and for fun....

I'm 6'4 and 250lb, so perhaps that might limit the options.

With that said, what do you guys recommend for me, used preferably, for under 1500$?

Old 02-19-2008, 10:06 AM
Red Rider
Honda, accept nothing less!
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Complete nOOb

First, what part of the country are you in and what are your riding conditions? You will need to decide between the two major classes of quads, sport and utility, and where you ride will make all the difference!

Get a utility if you need 4wd, high ground clearance, racks to haul stuff, or big fenders to keep the water and mud off, etc. The disadvantage of a utility is that they are very heavy and have a high center of gravity.

Get a sport quad if you want to have fun! The disadvantage of a sport quad is lower ground clearance and 2wd.

My motto is to never ride a utility anywhere I can ride a sport quad!

Old 02-19-2008, 11:30 AM
Pro Rider
Sound advice there. "Hey, watch this........"
Default Complete nOOb