Buying an ATV Questions and suggestions about what to buy, financing, insurance, etc.

Help! sport or utility atv not sure

Search this Thread

Old 04-20-2008, 12:26 AM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help! sport or utility atv not sure

Live in Louisiana if that helps. Not much rocks here mostly have trails and mud. I may travel to nearby states to use their trails also. I'm a beginner but don't want to put a lot of money down on something I will out grow. I want to get one atv and stick with it so I'm looking at 350cc to 450cc size. Price a definite factor. I'm not sure if i should get a big heavy cluncker or something to shred the trails with
I do enjoy trail riding more than hit the mud and actually really have no desire to go through 4ft of mud just to see if i can do it. Will not race but will play on a track or sand dune if available. Do want the speed and be able to get some air but really hesitant to buy a sport because I dont want to hit a trail and not be able to complete the trail because its too muddy and i have no 4 wheel drive or cant get over the fallen trees in the road because my ground clearance is too low...but on the other hand dont want a utility atv and cant do the other things maybe someone can lead me in the right direction or tell me i could probably get by on most anything the outdoors throws at me with a two wheel drive sport .....

Old 04-20-2008, 01:15 AM
Pro Rider

Welcome to the forum! There's lots of good people here that will help you out.

If you like speed, then you're looking at a sport quad, or a big bore sport utility ATV. The 350 to 450 utility ATVs are not fast. One possible exception would be either the Wolverine 450, or the Renegade 500. The Renegade 500 is going to be expensive though. Also consider an Outlaw 525 with IRS, or the Honda 700 XX when it comes out, because they have more ground clearance. They are both top of the line ATVs though, so also pretty pricey.

Good luck.

DV