Buying an ATV Questions and suggestions about what to buy, financing, insurance, etc.

Want to move from Rincon 680...any suggestions appreciated

Search this Thread

Old 05-05-2008, 05:20 AM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Want to move from Rincon 680...any suggestions appreciated

I'm new to this and want to say hi to everyone 1st, and I'd really appreciate any advice.
I want to change my Rincon 680. Its actually a REALLY good bike and I've only had it a year but its my 1st ATV and I want to upgrade to something with more power because, powerful as it is, that is definately the big let down from my point of view.

A sport quad would probably best suit me BUT I want auto and its got to be a 4x4 because I drive through serious mud and water at times.

With all this in mind I had settled on the Can-Am Renegade 800 as a 'perfect' bike for my needs. However, I've read some really negative reports on reliability. Things burning out, frames twisting, losing power when wet because of belt slippage and bits and pieces dropping off. Also, I read that it is terrible for protecting you against the mud. After a few hours on my Rincon I am covered so I dont want a bike that by all accounts seems to funnel mud towards you!!

I'm now thinking that maybe another make should be considered.
Can anybody suggest anything to look at. Its got to be FAST, a good handler, 4x4 and auto.
Thanks.
Mark.

Old 05-05-2008, 09:26 AM
Pro Rider

I don't know about ALL of that but it sounds like the new Thundercat (if you got $11,000) or the much more affordable Brute force is what you're looking for.

Old 05-05-2008, 09:30 AM
Pro Rider
Sound advice there. "Hey, watch this........"
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Other than the lack of mud coverage (true) all the other negative reports on the Can-Am Renegade are about the same as other manufacturers. You can search around and find tons of flaws in most bikes - which usually represent a few % of all owners.