Buying an ATV Questions and suggestions about what to buy, financing, insurance, etc.

Mid-Size Trail Machine

Search this Thread

Old 12-08-2009, 10:38 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Mid-Size Trail Machine

Hi, just looking for a little input/ advice on my new atv. I've been riding Honda 300's since 1988 (still have 2 '88's and a '96) I live in western Colorado where there is a very wide variety of terrain

Even thogh I don't do work with my quads I need a 4x4 with racks to haul gear and supplies for fishing trips into a lot of areas , the rest of the use (approx 60-70%) is just as a pleasure trail machine.

My riding is done from about 4500' to a little over 10500' so F.I. would be nice. I ride terrain from fairly flat open high desert to tight twisty mountain trails. Some areas are fairy rocky , quite a few small stream crossings.

I want to stay in the 400-500cc range. The big bores along with being too expensive are too heavy and I don't need the extra power. Most all of the places I go your speed is limited by the terrain not by having more hp then then the machines I'm looking at. If it matters I'm 5-10 180.

The atv's that I have narrowed my choices down to are;
1.) Honda 420 AT with p.s.
2.) Honda 420 FPM foot shift with power steering , I don't want anything to do with the button shifting model. My father in law bought a 350 rancher es and everytime I ride it it drives me nuts(after 21 years of foot shift atv's and 10 years of foot shift dirt bikes before that.