Buying an ATV Questions and suggestions about what to buy, financing, insurance, etc.

What to buy,im new

Search this Thread

Old 08-06-2012, 09:19 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exclamation What to buy,im new

im new at this and am looking to buy my first 4wheeler, i heard that Honda and Yamaha are the best! Im looking for sport atv, not utility.... I really like the raptors but where i am from (puerto rico) they are the most popular and are really expensive... I was thinking anything from 350cc to 500cc, i am a 22 and 5'10 and weigh 185pounds.... I will be rideing in mud, sand, dirt and some rocky areas.... What do u guys think of the 2006 polaris predator500? Is polaris a good brand? I have used thier utilitys but never something sport. Also how do i know if i need 2wd or 4wd?

Old 08-07-2012, 11:03 AM
Super Moderator
Well, golly JimBob!
Received 54 Likes on 54 Posts

If you're going to be riding in a lot of mud, get a 4wd. There are lots of machines in the 500 cc class that will work. Suzuki King Quad, Polaris Sportsman, Can-Am Outlander and Renegade (Renegade is pretty sporty for a 4x4), Yamaha Grizzly 550 or 450.

Old 08-18-2012, 12:11 AM
Weekend Warrior

I owned a 2006 predator 500 troy lee edition for 4 years and they are very fun high quality quad that are great for all round riding. I sold it to buy a Polaris 525 outlaw. The outlaw really impressed me also so you really cant go wrong with a polaris sport quad they have nice machines that run very well. There are alot of performance modifications you can add to them also. Hope this helps

Old 08-18-2012, 09:32 AM
Extreme Pro Rider
Knows Old ATV Questions!
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

The Pred is a decent machine. I don't think they stand up to the years like most Honda/Yamaha machines do though. The Suzuki Z400 is a great quad that I would have on my short list.