Buying an ATV Questions and suggestions about what to buy, financing, insurance, etc.

Recommend a good, cheap, entry-level atv?

Search this Thread

Old 04-27-2014, 12:32 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Recommend a good, cheap, entry-level atv?

Hi everyone, I am new to the ATV scene and am looking for an entry level quad to get me started. I would be using the quad for recreation and riding on trails, but nothing too extreme. I've had limited experience on ATV's before, but only on utility quads.

Through my research I've decided I want a sport ATV with an engine size between 250-350cc. I also don't think 4 wheel drive will be necessary. My main issue is finding a good model. I have no brand preference, but I've heard good things about Honda and Suzuki. I have no idea what model I should get, as I'm looking to buy a used quad around model years 2000-2010. My budget is aprox. $3,000, but the lower the better.

Could anyone recommend a good quad for beginners that isn't too expensive? Also, where is the best place to look for used quads? I've been browsing craigslist but haven't found a whole lot. Should I go to my local dealer? I don't have a whole lot of mechanical experience so I wouldn't exactly know what to look for in a used quad.

Any and all help is appreciated!

Old 04-27-2014, 02:43 PM
Weekend Warrior

bump

Old 04-27-2014, 02:48 PM
Extreme Pro Rider
Knows Old ATV Questions!
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

I would just go for a 300 or 400ex. Good handling, reliable, plentiful parts. You will learn the clutch in short order. Good power band for a new rider. If you ever decide to sell later, they never really go for less than $1500 if taken care of.

Old 04-27-2014, 06:39 PM
Trailblazer