Buying an ATV Questions and suggestions about what to buy, financing, insurance, etc.

New to ATV's, food for thought on purchases

Old 05-17-2014, 04:15 PM
Pro Rider
Is old enough to know better, but too young to stop.
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Cool New to ATV's, food for thought on purchases

Ol' Dragginbutt here, going to make a few recommendations to the newbees out there looking either for themselves or someone they are making decisions for. First a disclaimer. I have been riding all kinds of machines for 50 years. Yep, ATC's, dune buggies, snowmobiles, ATV's, SxS's, Dirt bikes, you name it. And I AM STILL LEARNING NEW WAYS TO GET HURT. Even with tons of experience, you need to respect what these machines can do if you fail to follow basic common sense rules. Second, I am a BIG proponent of wearing proper safety gear. Helmet, goggles, gloves, leather boots that cover the ankle, and long pants at a bare minimum. If you can't afford it, go fishing. Lastly, do not decide on make, model and size based on what others are doing, and don't get caught up in the got to have the fastest thing on the planet hype. It almost always leads to injury or death. If you don't know what you are doing, get training from a competent instructor. Not your buddy next door. You will thank me later on that one....