CAN-AM (BRP) Discussions about CAN-AM ATVs.

Inexpensive mods?

Search this Thread

Old 05-24-2003, 05:56 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Inexpensive mods?

I have been watching a lot of you modifying your quads with various set ups but as I check into pricing out some of the great stuff you all have the cost of upgrading your motors is way expensive. As I have a limited amount of funds to dedicate to my quad I was wondering if there are any mods that can be done to the stock pipe/carb/airbox that will give me improved performance. I have played around with removing the guts of my stock exhaust by I am unsure of the negative consequences associated with this type of messing around. Any comments or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Old 05-25-2003, 09:16 AM
Pro Rider
It's official, I've been duning for over 30 years.

Proper gearing and tires are the best thing for a stock DS. Try to just change the front sprocket and retain the rear, the aftermarket costs too much and aluminum wears quickly. Pipe mods work almost as well as an aftermarket slip on. A k&N in the box or on the carb and a jet kit with new needle is well worth buying. The response is much better and it wheelies easier.
I tweeked my ignition timing and port matched the intake and exhaust (make sure you don't get anything down past the valves) and I'm hanging with bikes with bigger carbs, exhaust and higher comp pistons.
I hope this helps, my DS was always a little slower than a few other guys I rode with and I have tried alot of litte mods. This is the best and cheapest combo I can come up with with the exception that I also have a cdi.

Old 05-25-2003, 11:14 AM
Weekend Warrior

What front sprocket did you use and how did you modify your pipe? Yesterday I toyed with removing all of the guts and I ended up with a very rattly exhaust
Any more help in direction would be appreciated as I have no experience with tuning

Old 05-25-2003, 02:05 PM
Pro Rider