CAN-AM (BRP) Discussions about CAN-AM ATVs.

Carb theory

Search this Thread

Old 10-11-2003, 12:36 PM
Pro Rider
It's official, I've been duning for over 30 years.
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Carb theory

While alot of people are changing out their carbs in search of that extra HP I think back to my hot rod days and all money I used to throw at my car. Recently I read an article about a guy that got off on tweaking stock car parts and beating the guys with all these mods and I wondered how much faster my car could have been if spent more time tuning it. With my DS I suppose my philosophy is how fast can I make my stock one go.
Some confusing things have come up about the stock carburation lately.
First is that some people think the stock carb does'nt flow enough for the stock DS. In hotrodding most people over carbed. A Harley with twice the cubes only runs a 45mm carb.
Secondly, at first Knutz recommended using a carb mount K&N filter and gained 3hp on the dyno by doing this. Then MisterHP said to use the airbox and lid for dyno proven results. As Hightower pointed out, that goes against all common theory of less restriction. The Dyno results of the Lectron 46mm with open airbox show gains across the board which is kind of odd. This might support knutz's observation that the airbox robs 3hp or more. It's usually rare to see a bolt on change gain power across the board. Most changes, cams for instance, usually give up in one area to gain in another or at least only equal the stock part in one rpm range. Therefore it seems to make sense that the vacuum opperated slide on the mikuni isn't opperating correctly with the carb mount filter or the air path is not straightened soon enough. Hot rodders use short airstacks to straighten flow so I am going to try one plus a filter for obvious reasons.