CAN-AM (BRP) Discussions about CAN-AM ATVs.

Tips for intake porting? Help MisterHorsepower!

Search this Thread

Old 10-31-2003, 12:51 AM
Pro Rider
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Tips for intake porting? Help MisterHorsepower!

Well I have my quad tore apart because I'm adjusting valves but I decided to take my intake manifold off to port it a little with the dremel. I just need to know what to do to give me the best power gain if any? how much do I need to take off and exactly where? Is there certain spots to do in the manifold or not touch at all? does it have to be rough inside like it is now or should I make it smooth? Please let me know some info on what to exactly do so I don't go backwards and defeat the purpose of trying to gain some power. If anyone knows what I need to do tell me but I know MisterHorsepower knows what I need to do so let me know. thanks.

Old 10-31-2003, 01:35 AM
Pro Rider
It's official, I've been duning for over 30 years.

The main thing to look for is when you put it back on, make sure it is properly aligned. Just a little missmatch can ruin all the good you may have done. My intake was in good shape and when aligned the ports matched the head but the bolt holes were not centered very well. A little tweaking lined it up. The next most obvious problem is the rubber boot gets out of shape when the hose clamp compresses it. Place the boot on the intake and tighten the clamp as if it was on the bike and note the parts bulging into the airflow also any gaps between metal and rubber. Then take it off and dremmel the offending areas. When that side looks good, clamp the boot on the carb and check that side.
Intake side rough, exhaust side smooth. The roughness creates a skin or boundary swirling airflow layer that atomizes fuel and helps atomize fuel that wants to adhere to the surface. Which evaporates faster water in a sponge or water in a puddle?

Old 10-31-2003, 02:56 AM
Extreme Pro Rider