CAN-AM (BRP) Discussions about CAN-AM ATVs.

paddles- 10 vs. 8

Search this Thread

Old 12-15-2003, 08:09 PM
Pro Rider
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default paddles- 10 vs. 8

got a set of used 20 inch 10 paddle haulers. got them before I started using the forum [img]i/expressions/face-icon-small-sad.gif[/img] then I see most people recomend the 8 paddle for a stock bike. what are the pros and cons of each ? personally I think it runs pretty good with them . nothing close to stock has consistently beat it, includeing YFZ's so I was wodering what i would gain with the 8's. Thanks

john

Old 12-15-2003, 08:56 PM
Range Rover

I'm not an expert, but from what I understand the more paddles you have the less likely you are to reach full rpm's, it just puts more load on the engine. Going down on your counter sprocket might help, especially if you race up the hill.

Old 12-15-2003, 09:05 PM
Extreme Pro Rider

Jerfinds is right. I run the 22x11x10 10paddles on a Pipe and Jetted DS. They are real good for holeshot on short runs. If your out west you may want less paddles due to the longer runs and more top end needed. We run real short runs here so the 10 paddles work great.

I think the biggest thing you are going to find is the 20 tire doesnt have alot of side wall and you will find yourself digging into the sand instead rising above it. Thats why I changed from the 20's to the 22's. More side wall, better floatation on top of the sand. Thats why you see alot of drag bikes running 22's on 8 inch rims.

Old 12-15-2003, 10:40 PM
Extreme Pro Rider

i went from 20 to 22 inch for much better flotation, 22 inch is much better for just about everything on the DS imo.
10 paddles were fine for me around sea level and in Michigan and Oklahoma sand, but trips out west at high altitudes where hp is lost at 5K' proved the 10's to be too much - hard to maintain rpm and holeshots suck.
IMHO 8 pdl for stock, 9 for stock bore mods, and 10 for the big bores, all 22".