CAN-AM (BRP) Discussions about CAN-AM ATVs.

Spark plug color?

Search this Thread

Old 10-21-2004, 03:13 PM
Pro Rider
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Spark plug color?

Anyone have a pic of what a perfect sparkplug color should be. Im having a hell of a time getting
my carb set up right. 05 dsViper, Mr.Hp cap and no toil filter. Im running a 170 jet and it keeps popping and
and snapping at start up. After it warms up it runs pretty good. The plugs are black. Would adjusting the needle help?
I am new to this and this is my first Quad.

P.S. Thank's to all who have answered my previous questions. This forum is awesome. Also I am usually a single rider
Anyone interested in a ride at Horsefall, Winchester, Florence, Christmas valley or maybe Sand Mt. I would really like to meet
some other DS owners to ride with. Im getting kind of tired of beating up the guy's in Blue! LOL

Old 10-21-2004, 03:29 PM
Pro Rider

Most of the pics you find on the net are for 2 strokes and they always look for a tannish brown color, When I had my DS dyno tuned the plugs ended up being white-ish grey for peak power. That is what I always look for now. As far as your carb issues at start up, does it sputter and pop without touching the throttle? ( meaning at idle only) or are you hitting the throttle a little?

I'm just trying to determine which circuit in the carb is out of tune. If it's just at idle than you need to adjust the air/fuel screw so the bike starts easier. Most guys have that screw set at 3 1/2 turns out +/- 1/4 turn. If you get the poping only when you pop the throttle at start up, than you may just need to let the bike warm up completely be fore you hit it or re-adjust the needle to richen up the circuit. Popping or back firing can be a rich or lean symptom. Experimenting with it will do you good!

welcome to the forums!

Old 10-21-2004, 06:34 PM
Pro Rider

http://www.4strokes.com/