CAN-AM (BRP) Discussions about CAN-AM ATVs.

AIR FUEL MIXTURE ERROR???

Search this Thread

Old 02-09-2005, 09:38 AM
Pro Rider
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default AIR FUEL MIXTURE ERROR???

Let me give you a little background before we get started on the technical crap.
I bought my 04 DS used without knowing the owner. I purchased it from a dealer who had reposed it so I have little to go on with regard to what was done to it with regards to modifications. I do know that the exhaust was changed to a FMF Titanium-4 and some non-mechanical bolt on pieces we added such as bumpers and a grab bar.

However this has little to do with the questions I have so lets get started. Keep in mind I have little experience with the DS or any quad for that matter so some of the questions may be elementary. First, last night I completed the oil and filter change and started it up. Yes the red light went out thank God……As I was warming the bike up I noticed it having a difficult time staying running ( popping ) nevertheless when I gave a twist to the throttle it jumped into action. In addition to the popping I noticed that the exhaust pipe down where it exits the cylinder was turning red! [img]i/expressions/face-icon-small-shocked.gif[/img]

Now I’ve been around Harley’s for years and I have never seen an exhaust turn red as it sits at idle but maybe the quads are different. My first tendency is to think the AFR is incorrect in that it’s running too lean. So, is it normal for the exhaust pipe to turn red near the cylinder? And if not would you suspect the AFR is not correctly set? and lastly what are the optimal settings for a base line adjustment for the air fuel mixture screws?

Sorry for being so winded.....still learning...[img]i/expressions/face-icon-small-cool.gif[/img]

Old 02-09-2005, 10:59 AM
sam
Pro Rider