CAN-AM (BRP) Discussions about CAN-AM ATVs.

Shock tuning question

Search this Thread

Old 03-16-2005, 01:54 AM
Pro Rider
It's official, I've been duning for over 30 years.
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Shock tuning question

I'm not happy with my suspension but am not ready to throw down big $$$ for aftermarket shocks so here's a thought. The rear shock has adjustable valving but with the front you just get what you get. What if I drilled the front shocks and refilled them with different weights of oil to adjust the damping? I could tap the housing and put in a bolt or possibly weld in a bung. What do you guys think? Are the fronts under pressure? I've got a spare lying around to test on and the stockers are cheap if I did mess them up.

Old 03-16-2005, 11:47 AM
Pro Rider

I honestly don't know, but would seriously consider doing the same if it worked.
J

Old 03-16-2005, 01:21 PM
Extreme Pro Rider

I would like to see if somthing could be done with the stockeers aswell. Also can the stock rear shock be adjusted to work well with a +4 swingarm, without sending it off to be revalved? My quad sets too high when a adjust my sag to my wieght. I need to know more about shocks I guess[img]i/expressions/face-icon-small-blush.gif[/img]

bigger.

Old 03-16-2005, 03:50 PM
Pro Rider

Ride a YFZ for an hour. Then get back on your DS and you will have a whole new outlook on the DS suspension... [img]i/expressions/face-icon-small-smile.gif[/img]

Honestly I don't think the suspension is all that bad compared to others out there but having the ability to adjust the dampening by changing the fluid weight would be a nice alternative to the high cost of aftermarket shocks.......Looking forward to one of the all knowing guys to chime in with the answer.

Old 03-16-2005, 03:51 PM
Pro Rider

I don't know much about shocks really but I've found most people are to intimidated to even mess with the clickers on their rear shocks on dirtbikes and quads.