CAN-AM (BRP) Discussions about CAN-AM ATVs.

Still need more info on the KMS EFI (user problem reports)

Search this Thread

Old 02-22-2006, 03:43 PM
Pro Rider
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Still need more info on the KMS EFI (user problem reports)

I have contacted kelly to get most of my questions answered BUT- I am still looking for input (past/present problems with your EFI setup) suggestions etc etc.

Old 02-22-2006, 06:19 PM
Range Rover
Keeps busy in the garage building one thing or another.

The KMS EFI would work very well for you. LOL
I am by no means a expert on my EFI/turbo system but I believe if you were to order a EFI today, and you had a stock DS650 and you upgraded the cdi to what Kelly recommends and run the gas or methonal he recommends plus upgrade your valve springs, Kelly could send you the fuel map that would probably work very close to perfect. As far as a 6000ft change in altitude I could not tell you.
But you have a 730 kit. I could be wrong but I dont think Kelly could make a specific map for eack big bore kit that comes out or should I say has the time to do it. I am positive he could do it... I am assuming the map for the stock versus bigbore vs racehead vs cams.....are all going to be different.
Some of the questions I have right now are how do I know when the 02 sensor is bad or going bad? What size are these injectors I recieved for a stock 650? The gas injector and the methonal injector? If I go from stock 650 injectors to a 730 do my injectors need to be upgraded for more flow? At what point is the injectors not cutting it or the fuel pump is not cutting it or maybe its my fuelpetcok that is causing a restriction.
I have alot more learning to do with my EFI system but it cost $$ and it really helps to have access to a dyno and a knowledgible tunner that can see whats happening. As 222 put it "the good thing about the EFI sytem is you have control of everything, the bad thing is...well you have control of everything"