CAN-AM (BRP) Discussions about CAN-AM ATVs.

new tm45. what do i need??

Search this Thread

Old 09-11-2008, 08:33 PM
Range Rover
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default new tm45. what do i need??

hey guys,
some of you may know that i purchased a tm45, and it just came tonight. i read the instructions while i was in class and was just wondering if anyone had any advice for installation. thanks!!
Dave

Old 09-12-2008, 01:16 AM
Pro Rider
SilverBomb has got an Addiction!

I'm not a TM expert but the least you need to do is make sure you have the proper jetting and have the Accelerator pump activated from 0-3/4 throttle. That is just the white plastic thing with the 2 adjuster screws and it's really easy to adjust. Also make sure that pump spray is pointed at the needle jet. [img]i/expressions/face-icon-small-happy.gif[/img] That should get you set up good.

Old 09-12-2008, 09:46 AM
Pro Rider
Has been riding one thing or another since I was 11 years old.(31 years).

i assume you bought a new intake & cable? like silver bomb said you need to use the accelerator pump. if you are useing an IMS desert tank you need to shim the back end of the tank 1/2" or the cable will hit the tank. when I did this i used 2 pieces of 1/4"X2" flat aluminum. the bottom piece i extended for the seat to sit on and the top piece was to add to the shimming, the stock bolts worked fine. if the seat slips off the stock tabs it will drop & hit the cab and make the throttle stick(mine did) jetting is simple, the TM 45 uses the same jets as the stock carb. if you have to move the needle, search the threads for that . i posted earliier on how to move it.it looks tough at first but is quite simple. if you are useing the 5 gal.IMS tank you will have to remove it to get to the top of the carb to move the needle. this is a great carb, you will notioce a big differance in performance. did you buy it new or used?

Old 09-12-2008, 12:23 PM
Trailblazer