CAN-AM (BRP) Discussions about CAN-AM ATVs.

beadlocks

Search this Thread

Old 02-01-2009, 07:34 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default beadlocks

Ok so my 06 ds650x is in need for some beadlocks badly I have a set of 10paddle extremes (hualer style) tires and ITP T9 rims. would i be able to buy beadlocks for the rims that i currently have or do i have to buy a whole new rim? I am new to the whole beadlock thing so any information that is helpful would be great. the problem i am having is that in 3rd 4th and 5th gear toward the top of the rpm range the rim is spinning inside the tire will beadlocks fix this?

Old 02-01-2009, 07:52 PM
Range Rover
Default beadlocks

what PSI are you running? I dont know anything about beadlocks but i think thers a glue or something you can put on your tire. You see alot of these big horsepower bikes not using bead locks so there should be a solution somewhere.

Old 02-01-2009, 08:53 PM
Pro Rider
Started riding ATVs in 1974!
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default beadlocks

There is something wrong with your set up. There is no way you should be spinning the wheels in the tires, and if you were it would be in the lower gears when you have more leverage (lower gearing) not higher gears.

Bead locks will work, but most are only for the outside. To keep the tire from popping off the bead, and if it goes flat provide some ability to keep going.

I have seen guys drill the sides of the rims and use screws before.

How do you know its the wheels slipping? Might be your clutch getting tired. Have you marked the tire and wheel so you can tell for sure?

Good luck!

Old 02-02-2009, 07:48 AM
Trailblazer
Default beadlocks