CAN-AM (BRP) Discussions about CAN-AM ATVs.

New Member, Need Heeeeelp!! DS 650

Old 06-28-2013, 02:48 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New Member, Need Heeeeelp!! DS 650

Hi all,
I'm new to the connection, and am hoping to get a little help with some electrical issues i've been having with my 04 DS650.
I bought the bike and it ran strong for a whole season, then after a 3-4 hour run it started to run rough like it was starving for fuel.
Checked the carb no fuel issues, went to start the bike again and the battery was stone dead. Got the bike home and attempted to charge the battery, no luck.
The bike would start and run no issues with a booster pack, but once disconnected the bike would die immediately.
So I started trying to find the issue with the charging system, started with a new regulator/rectifier, would start and run with a booster pack, then die once removed.
I moved on and changed the stator and battery, this is where it gets interesting, the bike fired up and ran without the booster pack but when I attempted to rev up the bike it burnt a hole through the top of the cdi. I should mention that I did not have the battery in the bike at this time (I know rookie mistake) it was still charging, I just wanted to test the stator and see if the bike would run on its own.

I put a new cdi on the bike and fired it up again, it started with no issues and ran for about 40 seconds and stalled. Went to start it again NO SPARK. Now with the just the key switch on the cdi gets too hot to touch.