Drivetrain, Suspension & Tires Discussions on ATV drivetrain, suspension, and tires.

FNG needs tire advice.

Search this Thread

Old 03-30-2018, 02:58 PM
Trailblazer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default FNG needs tire advice.

Okay I have searched for this but am not quite sure still so here goes.

New to ATV's and I have a old kaw 220 bayou that I picked up for the kids to play with. I think I have the sizes figured out but would like some opinions on tread type.

I know that you are going to ask where and what type of riding we do but this is the problem ... I do not know as I am new to this. I am probably looking at trails and some mud/snow. To be honest I would not have changed tires yet but one is bad enough it would need a tube and I do not see spending almost 1/2 the price on a tube that might get me a tire. There are sooo many options that it gets hard when you have no experience but I think I have narrowed it down to Knobbies or all terrains . If I choose one over the other what are the trade offs vs benefits?

It is not supposed to be a sporty atv but if I am reading it right the knobbies are pretty good at most things and thats sort of what the oem dunlops were. Is that just old designs and I may be better off with more of an all terrain like the carlyle stryker or AT 489 style tires. I do not want Mud specific tires at this point but being a 2wd I do want traction for those times I do run across mud or snow.

Thanks for looking.

Old 03-30-2018, 04:24 PM
Moto Psycho
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts