General Chat Ask for ATV help above in the Brand Discussions Area. Use this forum to discuss Life, Music, ETC. Or discuss pretty much anything BUT no political or religious threads. There's an area for that.

ATV Selection - What's Your Opinion?

Search this Thread

Old 09-27-2012, 08:40 AM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Talking ATV Selection - What's Your Opinion?

First, I'm not asking this question to start any "contentions", I'm just trying to get some outside points of view to help make a decision on my next ATV.

I've ridden/worked on ATVs for 20+ years so I'm not a newbie. I ride primarily in the mountains of east Tennessee so there are a lot of hills, rocks, and creek crossings, with a few mud holes thrown in just for fun. I've owned Suzuki, Honda, and Yamaha so I'm open to any and all suggestions. I just sold my last 4 wheeler and want something different; can't afford a new one so I'm looking for a good used one.

I know I want a big bike, 700+ cc, preferably a V-Twin, 4x4 & EFI are a must, and I would like 4-wheel independent suspension. I need low-end torque for crawling through the hard stuff, horsepower for pulling a trailer and other ATVs, and enough ground clearance where I'm not beating the bottom of it apart in the rocks.

So, what are your suggestions and why?

Old 09-27-2012, 09:37 AM
Pro Rider
Does it in the Mud!