General Chat Ask for ATV help above in the Brand Discussions Area. Use this forum to discuss Life, Music, ETC. Or discuss pretty much anything BUT no political or religious threads. There's an area for that.

Average Speed on the Trails

Old 02-07-2017, 07:28 PM
Back Country Explorer
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Average Speed on the Trails

I've ridden my ATV around on the dirt roads in my neighborhood, all the way up to 30 mph. Wow! I have 4 hours on it and very inexperienced.

I'm new to ATV riding as you can tell. Can you give me some advice on what to expect for speeds when I finally do a trail ride this summer?

I read some folks select low range and ride along at 20 mph or so. Then I see videos of folks riding along at 40 mph or so, drifting around corners, spinning tires while accelerating.

I have a feeling my group of retired folks will ride more like 20 mph except on a long, straight section where higher speeds are logical and safe. I'm sure we will pull over and let the faster groups "play through" as it were.

What should I expect for speeds on my first trail ride? I'd hate to hold my group up.

David

Old 02-07-2017, 07:33 PM
Extreme Pro Rider
Knows Old ATV Questions!
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Just ride at a speed that is within your limits and don't worry about the numbers. Out here in the tight northeast 20mph is only going to happen in the field or on roadways. When we go in a group, the fast guys are in the front and just stop to wait every so often. No sense riding over your head and getting hurt.

Old 02-07-2017, 08:13 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

That depends heavily on what your bike is and what your group is riding, what level of comfort you have with your bike, What terrain you drive on and how twisty the path is, Also there are groups that bring their wives or kids with them and other groups that have no passengers and drive ***** to the wall.