General RUV / UTV Discussion Discussions about Gators, Mules, Rangers, Rhinos and other off-road recreational vehicles.

Help me choose my new Ride Please!

Search this Thread

Old 07-10-2015, 07:36 PM
Trailblazer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help me choose my new Ride Please!

I'm all approved and ready for a buyers order on a shiny new (2 seater) SxS.
I could get pretty much anything I want but due to the resulting payments - I'd like to keep the out-the-door price well under $20K.

I'm a very experienced ATV rider having owned at least a dozen of them and about that many dirt motorcycles(I'm 46).
I currently have a 2014 Honda Rincon 680 that I'll be trading in on whatever I get.
I've never owned a SxS but I have used one(RZR) off road for a few days so I'm not a complete noob to them and I've been studying them.

I go to Windrock OHV(Coal Creek) 2-3 times a year and I think a SxS will be safer and also allow me to take the wife....which will in turn allow me to go more often
So, primarily I want something in the 60" wide class that can rock crawl and do seriously steep stuff well and not get too beat up doing it. That is the Primary concern.
I'm not at all interested in high speeds but I know the value of a good suspension and power when it comes to climbs.

Secondarily, I want something that will hold up....
I know Polaris is popular and performs well, but I've owned 3 of their ATVs and I've got a lot of friends w/late model RZRs and they just seem to start nickle and diming us after the new wears off.
I just can't bring myself to commit to bushings every year, air box leaks, water pumps and a crappy warranty....my apologies to anyone I'm offending w/that
I really love Honda and am usually willing to be at the back of the pack in exchange for making every ride(reliability)...The Pioneer 700 has the same engine as my current Rincon which I like, but