Honda Discussions about Honda ATVs.

Recon Not Running Great, Help!!!!!

Search this Thread

Old 07-18-2003, 12:22 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Recon Not Running Great

I just bought a 2003 Honda Recon and about 2 weeks I got some water and trash in my gas. Well I have the Carb cleaned and Tank drained and all of that good stuff. Well now it does not seem to be running the same way it did before. To best explain it. I go through all 5 gears and it sounds like the Motor is under so much stress at half way that I need to gear up again. Sometimes it even spudders while holding the throttle about half way. Is this normal and I just need to live with it or is there a bigger problem that I need to have fixed?

Thanks!!!!!

Old 07-18-2003, 12:38 PM
Ol
Range Rover
Default Recon Not Running Great, Help!!!!!

Hey, Clanton... home folks (I went to school in Tuscaloosa bacjk in the 60's) !

I am NO expert but I had a similar problem once about 30 years ago with a Fiat. The Fiat carburator was water cooled. After a complete engine rebuild, I inavdertantly connected the water jacket line to the EGR port and thus 1) injected water into the carb and 2) filed up the EGR cannister withwater. The symptoms were the same as yours except that they got rapidly worse after a few miles. Boy, was I pissed off - and with no one to blame but myself (LOL).

I suggest that you drain the gas tank again, blow out all the lines with compressed air and clean the carb yet one more time. It "could be" just trash intermittently blocking / clogging your gas line.

Oh, and replace the filter.

Other than that, how do you like your Recon? I'm about to buy one for guests to ride when they visit my ranch over in the desert.

Old 07-18-2003, 12:47 PM
Weekend Warrior