Honda Discussions about Honda ATVs.

why is 250ex not for racing

Search this Thread

Old 04-14-2004, 06:23 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default why is 250ex not for racing

hey everyone, i consider myself pretty well educated in anything automotive. however i am new to this world of atv'ing. i was just wondering what the disadvantage of a driveshaft and auto clutch are. i know they r not as powerful as built for racing bikes but y cant the 250 race?

Old 04-14-2004, 08:09 PM
Pro Rider

they do i believe have a specail calls for the slow 250's, like 250ex, z250, 300ex, blaster, mojavie, and all them

Old 04-14-2004, 09:45 PM
Pro Rider

Suspension is bad and not adjustable, its slow(not saying that my 300ex is fast but its a good amount faster) shaft drive just takes off HP because of all the things that have to move for it, and its semi-auto.

Old 04-14-2004, 11:03 PM
Pro Rider

Originally posted by: 300exRiderJay
Suspension is bad and not adjustable, its slow(not saying that my 300ex is fast but its a good amount faster) shaft drive just takes off HP because of all the things that have to move for it, and its semi-auto.

With all due respect 300exRiderJay, the shaft drive does not take HP away, but does the opposite, the shaft drive on a 250ex is a direct line into rear wheels, there are less "things to move". It is simple physics, the engine on a 250ex is mounted so the shaft drives comes right out of the back of the engine. On a chain drive there are more angles and this actually causes a loss of HP.

The reason a 250ex does not race is that it is not built for that, it is based on a utility ATV the recon. It is not a race bike but more of a hybrid.

Think of it this way, sprinter wears sprinting shoes, other track and field athletes wear a cross training shoe. The 250ex is not a sprinter and was not built to be.

Old 04-14-2004, 11:16 PM
Pro Rider

The chain and sprocket may cause a power loss, but it's lighter than the driveshaft.