Honda Discussions about Honda ATVs.

Looking for ATV best 1 to get Honda Yamaha???

Search this Thread

Old 09-13-2004, 08:03 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Best ATV Honda Yamaha

I am looking to buy a new ATV, i am looking for one that is at the top of the line performance but is also very reliable. I am looking for either a Honda TRX450R or a Yamaha, Banshee, Raptor, YFZ. I dont know which 1 is the most reliable but still 1st, 2nd, or 3rd in performance???

Old 09-13-2004, 09:28 PM
Pro Rider
Default Looking for ATV best 1 to get Honda Yamaha???

Keep in mind that I have no first-hand experience with any of these machines except the Raptor. I do, however, pay close attention to reviews, shootouts and discussions almost everywhere in the ATV world (no, not just the mags). I think you will find most of my information to be pretty much on par with what others will tell you. The good thing about my perspective is that it is unbiased as I do not own any of these models. It's hard to rate the quads you've listed in order of performance because you haven't really said what type of riding you will be doing. If you can specify what types of riding you usually do, I can help you out a little bit better. The two most overall high-performance ATVs in that list are the TRX450R and YFZ450. Neither of which is going to be as reliable as say, a 400EX or Z/KFX/DVX400 (all same quad originally made by Suzuki, which I will refer to from here on out as a Z400). The Banshee and Raptor are some of the most radical quads ever made. The Banshee exhibits probably the greatest 2-stroke ATV powerplant in the business as of recently. Very strong, hard-hitting powerband. However, the handling and suspension is outdated compared to the other machines and I for one don't consider 2-strokes to be as forgiving maintanance-wise as a 4-stroke, but that's purely my opinion against anothers. The Raptor 660 is one of the premier big-bore sport machines. Of the 3 current big-bore