Honda Discussions about Honda ATVs.

buying a recon

Search this Thread

Old 09-27-2000, 10:03 PM
Trailblazer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I am 200 pounds and 6 feet tall. I was thinking of buying a new atv, is the recon a good quad for riding on trails, dose it do good going down steep
hills.

sportsman 500- 26in mudrunner tires

Old 09-27-2000, 10:37 PM
Range Rover

My Recon does great going down hills. Im not too good at going up them, however thats not the Quads fault. I have a blast every time I ride, even if I do end up on my back now and then. The front end is very light, Im rather heavy (heavier then you) and gravity isnt my friend :-) The Recon is a great all round trail machine. It will not do through the mud like your Sportsman but its nible enough to get around most trouble spots. With it being a smaller (not too small though for your size) machine its very easy to slide through corners and zip inbetween trees. I have gone places on it where I know a bigger Quad could not(and gotten stuck a few times where a bigger 4x4 could plow right through)
All in all its a fine machine.

Old 09-28-2000, 01:00 AM
BK
Pro Rider

I found the Recon to be very stable up or down hills. In fact, in a freak accident I found myself sliding sideways down a very steep hill on my Recon. It didn't roll and saved my rearend from certain pain, possible death (moral of story: don't wheely over unknown ridge). It also had plenty of power for me and I am around 230. If you want any additional Recon info, e-mail me.

Old 09-28-2000, 01:10 AM
Trailblazer

The recon is a great bike!!! We have one and I ride it as much as my Wolverine. I too am heavier than you, and it scoots just fine. You might also consider the Rancher. You can get in two or four wheel drive and you gain considerable clearance. I have some awesome Recon and 400 ex pics on my website that show just how capable that bike is. Good Luck!

Old 09-28-2000, 08:55 AM
Range Rover