Honda Discussions about Honda ATVs.

What kind of oil for my Fourtrax 70?

Search this Thread

Old 05-07-2005, 02:09 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What kind of oil for my Fourtrax 70?

I am new to the world of ATVing so forgive my lack of knowledge. I have an '86 Fourtrax 70 and I haven't replaced the oil since I bought it. I believe it has a four stroke engine. What kind of oil should I put in? And is synthetic better than regular (taking into consideration how old the engine is)? Thanks in advance.

Old 05-07-2005, 04:02 PM
Pro Rider

to check if it is a 4 stroke or two stroke check in manual if you still have it, but it should say on the gas cap mix with oil or what ever, and if it doesn't i'm pretty sure it should be 4 stroke, synthetic is more expensive because its not really oil, regular motor oil is pure almost, synthetic is treated, and will last longer and longer intervals between oil changes but it doesn't mean its good to do it longer, its better to change it fairly frequently like every season, or every 8 months, depends on the riding, but other than that any oil would work just fine, it all really just depends on how hard you ride it, you know. but i wouldn't go synthetic, alot of V-8s can go long with out synthetic, those are for people who like the name and people with sport atvs and sport cars and trucks, or high RPM engines for that matter.

hope that all helps some how.

Old 05-07-2005, 04:08 PM
Weekend Warrior

Ok thanks. I don't have the manual but I just ordered a copy off ebay. I saw someone else selling this same quad and they had it listed as a four-stroke engine so I am pretty sure it is. I'll go with the regular oil. Thanks for your help.

Old 05-07-2005, 04:44 PM
Quad Patrol