Honda Discussions about Honda ATVs.

Castrol GPS 4-Stroke oil?

Search this Thread

Old 11-27-2000, 09:11 AM
Range Rover
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

has anyone tried this oil, it is red, have you ran a red 4 stroke oil before?

Old 11-27-2000, 11:56 AM
Range Rover

I don't use Castrol but the Amsoil that I run is red (20w-50 high performance)
Exer

Old 11-27-2000, 12:06 PM
Trailblazer

Is it formulated for motorcycles? There is a diff.
between regular oil you use in a car and one that is also used to lube the gear box etc. I don't think the color is relevent but I may be wrong. Cyle oil is a lot more spendy but...........
I guess if you change your oil often, then any good auto oil will work.

Old 11-27-2000, 02:14 PM
Pro Rider

Several years ago I was told by a friend that Castrol has a reputation for creating a varnish buildup in engines. I had been using it in my '85 Toyota pickup for several years and had a problem with sticking valves during cold startup. It was so bad at times that I was afraid the valves were going to knock holes in the top of the pistons. Soon thereafter I changed to Valvoline add haven't had the problem since. Since that time I have run Valvoline in a 89 Camry and 98 Tacoma with no problems whatsoever. Needless to say, it goes in every gasoline engine that I own.

Old 11-27-2000, 02:39 PM
Range Rover

for my toyota i use havoline, but a quad engine is a whole different story. Castrol gps is 8 dollars a quart, so it better work

Old 11-27-2000, 02:58 PM
Pro Rider

Now think for just a minute and put yourself in the shoes of the company who makes and sells ATV's. Would you make one that comes with some unique type of gasoline engine that requires a unique type of oil? Common sense tells me you would sell a lot more of them if it were built around an engine that was completely well-suited for conventional type oils.

Old 11-27-2000, 05:31 PM
Range Rover