Honda Discussions about Honda ATVs.

400ex questions and problems

Search this Thread

Old 08-11-2007, 09:12 PM
Pro Rider
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 400ex questions and problems

Hey guys,

I went in halves with a buddy of mine on a 2000 400ex a few months back, but I don't know a damn thing about them. I'm fairly new to atv's in general, but I would rather try to tear into this thing myself instead of paying somebody else to do it.

Here is the deal...the guy we bought it from told us it had some work done such as the 440 kit, white bros exhaust, jetted, and new filter. Now we can obviously see that it has the exhaust and filter....but how can we tell if it really has the 440 kit or not? He wasn't the one who had the work done, he bought it as I described it...so we really cant go back to him and ask about it.

Now for the problems.....

There was a little gas leaking around the carb ever since we got it, but I figured that was just because the carb was loose, I tightened it all up the first day I had it and I thought that took care of it. After looking at it a few more times, I saw that it was still leaking from somewhere.
Also, we had it out at the dunes a few months back, and it ran fine. After we got it home, I put it straight into my shed and didn't touch it until last week. I pulled it out, and fired it up....it started like normal, but died after about 20 seconds, and now it wont start.

I played with it for a while today, but didn't want to get too deep into it until I get my wolverine put back together...the last thing I need is two machines all tore apart in my garage, I will never get them back together! lol

Anyway, when I hit the start button, it cranks over like normal, but it wont start...not even a sputter. If you hit the gas a little while cranking it, you can hear it making a sucking noise, but I cant smell any gas. Even if you hold the throttle wide open, no gas smell......