Honda Discussions about Honda ATVs.

My New 400

Search this Thread

Old 11-04-2008, 09:45 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default My New 400

I picked up my first ATV on Friday. This is a 2002 400ex, that I bought for $1700, with ramps, an extra set of rear rims, white brothers pipe, and K&N air filter with outerwears air filter.

We took her out on Saturday for the first time to the Red River Motorcycle Club. What a blast! Anyway, I'm pleased with my new purchase, and ya'll will probably see alot of posts from me with dumb questions as I'm new to this sport.

So for my first dumb question, how should I treat the chain? I purchased a can of Maxima chain wax, which is what the guy at the local shop recommended. Any thoughts?

Old 11-04-2008, 10:40 PM
Shapeshifter Rider
Default My New 400

Enjoy your new quad!Chain wax should do fine.I normally lubricate mine every 2 to 3 months.Also remember to grease all zerk fittings.Also thats a good deal for that quad and year.GET A HELMET!!

Old 11-05-2008, 12:44 AM
Weekend Warrior
Default My New 400

Yep, I already got a helmet and gloves. I did that before the first ride. I still need to get some goggles and boots, then all the other goodies.

I've yet to see any zerk fittings on this bike. Are there particular fittings I should look for?

Also, I'm planning on doing an oil change soon. Any recommendations on brands or types of oil to use? I know this is a topic that is debated ad nauseum, but I have no clue.

Old 11-05-2008, 12:46 AM
Weekend Warrior
Default My New 400

One more question. When the bike is idle, I can hear a "whirring" sound from the motor. Is this normal? I don't hear any clicks, it's got pretty clean oil, and doesn't smoke at all. I'm sure it's normal, but wanted to run it by ya'll.

Old 11-05-2008, 09:09 AM
Shapeshifter Rider
Default My New 400