Honda Discussions about Honda ATVs.

Carb Cleaning

Search this Thread

Old 02-06-2009, 08:25 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Carb Cleaning

I'm new to the whole working on a quad, my friend gave me his 2001 Honda 400ex, i need to take the carb off and clean it out, since its been sitting over a year, how hard is it to clean it up? anyone do it out there that can give me some tips! Thanks guys!

Old 02-06-2009, 08:38 PM
Extreme Pro Rider
Default Carb Cleaning

Welcome to the forum, and welcome to ATVing.

If you are going to do your own work, I'd highly suggest getting a manual. Preferably the factory manual, but clymer or hayes aren't bad either.

Generally, once you've got it removed, spray the outside off with some cleaner, pull the bottom float bowl and take the hinge pin and float off. Pull the top apart, and the side cover. You might also want to remove various jets.

Then use a good carb cleaner like B12 Chemtool to blow out all jets and passages. Don't forget to hit any passages inside the bore of the carb. Follow by compressed air. Clean up the float bowl and anything else that needs it.

If the seals look good, and the float needle has a smooth V without ridges, you should be good to reassembe. If the seals or anything else look iffy, snag a rebuild kit.

This page shows a general exploded view of your carb.

http://www.bikebandit.com/hous...urtrax-ex-2001/o/m2658

Old 02-06-2009, 09:03 PM
Weekend Warrior
Default Carb Cleaning

Basically i'm thinking that i need to do a thorough clean with the carb, because the fuel overflow tube keeps pissing gas as soon as you turn on the gas ****, am i right thinking that maybe the float inside is jammed up? im hoping that cleanin the carb will fix the problem. Think it will??

Old 02-06-2009, 10:07 PM
Extreme Pro Rider
Default Carb Cleaning

If gas is running out of the overflow, most likely the float valve is gummed up or has some debris in it.