Honda Discussions about Honda ATVs.

Removing carb for cleaning on a '2000' 350 Rancher

Search this Thread

Old 11-21-2009, 04:59 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Removing carb for cleaning on a '2000' 350 Rancher

My carb is in need of a serious cleaning and I have never done this before. It hasnt been run in a year and when it was parked last, fuel was coming out the overflow tube. My 19 year old nephew has moved in with my wife and I and I need to get this running so the kid has an outlet in his complicated life.

By any chance could someone share some info on how to do this or could you possibly point me to source allready written? I have no manuals.

Oh yeh...the choke cable. How is this attached inside the carb so I dont screw that up.

Any help or tips at all would be greatly appreciated !

Old 11-21-2009, 05:11 PM
Extreme Pro Rider

Welcome to the forum.

It might be worth a few bucks to score yourself a Hayes or Clymer manual, if not the factory service one.

Generally on ATV's a person removes the air box, the throttle cable, fuel line and overflow lines, the choke, and the band on the intake manifold to pull the carb.

Usually there is a nut where the choke cable attaches to the carb that you unscrew, then withdraw the end of the cable with the little barrel shaped part of the enrichment valve on the end from the carb.

Old 11-21-2009, 06:11 PM
Weekend Warrior

Thanks Jeff, that sounds simple enough I guess.
The choke cable should just slide out then, I'll do that in the morning. Im hoping not to have to mess with the jets, would just a good blast of cleaner and air do the trick you think?
I also found a broken wire coming out of the back side bottom of the gear box, do you have any idea what this is? Is it a sensor of some sort?

Man I need a manual !

Old 11-21-2009, 08:58 PM
Extreme Pro Rider

As long as it has sat, I think I'd be for pulling the jets and the mixture screw.