Honda Discussions about Honda ATVs.

Oil and air filter

Search this Thread

Old 10-31-2010, 09:42 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Oil and air filter

I have a 2005 300ex and I'm still learning things about it as i go but I have a couple questions about the oil and air filter. 1) When I got this thing the air filter had never been changed and there was dried up mud and junk in the box and filter was crap. I had a K&N air filter (never been used) for a cold air intake for a car laying around so I thru it on my 300ex. I was wondering how do I properly oil it? 2) I ordered an oil filter element off ebay and I was curious if that's the whole oil filter or is this element one of 2 pieces?

Old 11-01-2010, 12:05 AM
Extreme Pro Rider

K&N makes an aerosol air filter oil, and filter cleaner. Basically clean the filter with the cleaner and water, and once it has dried hit it with the spray. Get an even pink on the filter, but don't over oil it. Don't use hot water as it will shrink the gauze, and don't use compressed air as it could blow holes in it.

Personally, I'm not a big fan of K&N and other gauze type filters on ATV's, and if it were mine I'd get an aftermarket foam type.

As far as the oil filter, it is an element, as opposed to a spin on filter. On many Hondas if you put the filter in the wrong way it will block all oil flow, so pay attention when you put it in. If it is a Honda filter, it will be stamped on each end as to which end faces the engine and which end faces the cover.

Old 11-01-2010, 08:48 AM
Weekend Warrior

Thanks for all the info, much appreciated. Is there a noticeable performance difference with using a foam type air filter? Are they better than the gauze type filters?

Old 11-01-2010, 10:36 AM
Pro Rider

Get a UNI air filter.

Old 11-01-2010, 03:01 PM
Extreme Pro Rider

UNI's are a nice quality filter.