Honda Discussions about Honda ATVs.

Jumping Techniques...

Search this Thread

Old 04-01-2001, 12:02 AM
Pro Rider
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

can someone school us on the proper way to catch killer air? I'm up to about 3 feet (back wheels)- and I know it's nothing compaired to the pro's- but I'm just learning- ...and mostly trying to get past the fear factor. I've heard you can tap your brake to drop the nose and accelerate to bring the front up-... but how about proper stance (or sitting)-

Any advise would be helpful

Old 04-01-2001, 12:09 AM
Pro Rider

heres how i like to do it:
first i take a couple practice jumps gradually getting higher and higher.
when i'm in the air i get off the gas and i only use it if i need to bring the front end up. i stand up on the pegs and i'm leaning slightly forward (i think) once your in the air u just have to do what feels natural. if you want big air compress yoru shocks right before you go off the jump so that they kind of act like a spring to launch you off. and always wear your gear!

Old 04-01-2001, 11:34 PM
Pro Rider

Alot of it depends on the size & profile of the jump but basically you will usually want to stand up as you hit the bottom of the jump. Accelerate until you are in the air and then back off the throtle. Don't chop the trottle as you leave the jump as this will make you nose dive. Also, don't continue to rev the motor in the air, as this will make the rear wheels drop. Keep your knees and arm bent and use your arms and legs as part of the suspention (i.e. suck up the impact of the landing with your arms & legs). You can sit back down AFTER you land. Above all, stay loose and relaxed.

You didn't say what you're riding, so I'm assuming you're on a 300 or 400EX or a 250R. If your on something like a Rancher or Recon you don't want to go for any doubles.

Old 04-01-2001, 11:59 PM
Pro Rider

relax is good....move with the bike