Honda Discussions about Honda ATVs.

Setting a limit for kids and unskilled adults.

Search this Thread

Old 02-29-2016, 12:19 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Setting a limit for kids and unskilled adults.

I'm in the process of acquiring a Foreman and a Rancher (they are part of the package in a real estate purchase). I'm new to the ATV world. I have two kids, 10 and 12 who I want to teach to ride, but want to limit their top speed until I'm certain they have good riding skills. It there a simple way to set a limit on either of these that's fairly easy to change between riders?

Old 02-29-2016, 12:42 PM
Pro Rider

Originally Posted by winedude
I'm in the process of acquiring a Foreman and a Rancher (they are part of the package in a real estate purchase). I'm new to the ATV world. I have two kids, 10 and 12 who I want to teach to ride, but want to limit their top speed until I'm certain they have good riding skills. It there a simple way to set a limit on either of these that's fairly easy to change between riders?
On most ATV's, there is a thumb throttle movement limiter screw installed into the throttle housing but I'm not sure if your Hondas have these or not.... Look at the thumb throttle on each machine....on the "front" of the throttle, there should ( could ) be a phillips ( four way ) screw and probably an 8mm locking nut. If your Honda's have this adjuster, loosen up the locking nut, then turn the screw inward...torward the thumb throttle....this will limit the "revs".... But again, not sure if your Hondas have these or not. If they do not have these, there are other ways to accomplish the task...but more complex.

Old 02-29-2016, 12:43 PM
Trailblazer

there is a simple screw on the thumb throttle to limit throttle movement. i have used it for younger riders and it works well. i should have used for some adults also!

Old 03-09-2016, 09:28 PM
Trailblazer

Originally Posted by winedude
Congrats! The kids will be fine