Honda Discussions about Honda ATVs.

What's the cam difference?

Search this Thread

Old 04-14-2001, 03:33 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hey yall,
I'm new to this particular forum so I suppose I should tell you what I have and how I ride. I own a 400ex. Mods include- 87mm 11:1 JE piston, a middle-of-the-line port and polish, White Bros. Pro-Meg full exhaust, and a K&N. I live in Las Vegas and I ride WOT all day. My plans with the powerplant are to eventually get a larger carb, finish up the port and polish, get a different rev box, and when the JE piston goes limp- Big Bore. I didn't mention a cam because that's what I need information about. Can you guys tell me the difference between the White Bros. recreational cam and the XR cam? How much of a performance gain will I get from either of these with the mods that I have? I looked up the HRC cam at service honda a few days ago and thought it was a little too pricey and I also thought that it would stand a strong chance of breaking off a valve. I don't want to sacrifice reliability, but I do want as much power as possible. I also just read the post about the HRC cam on this site and it sounds great, should I fork out the bucks for it concidering how I ride? And what about web cams and GT Thunder? Which cams will I need to get new springs for or hardened rockers? I know that I'm asking for heaps of info, but little bits at a time will help also. So whatever knowledge you may have is more than welcome. Oh, and Gabe, you seem to know alot about the 400 and so far I've agreed with everything that I've read of yours, so I'm particularly interested in the book I'm sure you'll write once you've seen this post. He he he, If you have'nt noticed, I write books too.

Old 04-15-2001, 01:06 PM
Weekend Warrior

Hello? Does anyone have any answers?

Old 04-15-2001, 04:31 PM
Pro Rider