Master Cylinder Help

Search this Thread

Old 04-07-2003 | 12:02 PM
db
|
Weekend Warrior
Default Master Cylinder Help

2001 Honda Foreman 450ES
When I pump the lever, brake fluid will not come out. I am assuming this is a problem with the cylinder set inside so I will be replacing this. Would you agree? Also, I can't figure out how to get the cylinder set out. Diagrams show a circlip(c-clip) which holds the cylinder set in, but I can not find it. Your help would be much appreciated. Thanks.

Old 04-07-2003 | 02:51 PM
Pro Rider

Unusual to have to do that on a bike 10 years old, much less 2 years. I would guess something else is going on. Why are you trying to bleed the brakes?

Old 04-07-2003 | 03:38 PM
db
|
Weekend Warrior

This all started because I had no pressure in the brake lever. When I squezed, there was zero pressure. I'm no mechanic, but if no fluid is going out the master cylinder then nothing is getting to the wheels. So, it would appear to me that the cylinder set within the master cylinder is, either,not letting fluid down from the resorvoir or not pushing it out into the line. Like I said, I'm no mechanic, but surely I can fix this. Your response is appreciated and anything further will be a great help.

Old 04-07-2003 | 07:11 PM
Pro Rider

are you blowing fluid?

Old 04-07-2003 | 07:23 PM
db
|
Weekend Warrior

Nothing is coming out of the master cylinder. If I let it set for 5 minutes, I can get a little to spurt out.

Old 04-08-2003 | 06:52 AM
Pro Rider