Hunting, Trapping, Game Management Discuss Bow and Fire Arm Hunting.

Hunting with a quad

Search this Thread

Old 07-09-2003, 11:42 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Hunting with a quad

How do you use your quad while hunting? Do you drive to a base camp and walk or how does this work. This may sound like a stupid question but I am new to 4-wheeling and would like to take it hunting with me but I am not sure where to go. I would like to go big game hunting in Colorado, Wymoing, or New Mexico. Any advice would be appreciated.
Thank you Bradley

Old 07-10-2003, 01:32 PM
Weekend Warrior

Bradley,
Make sure you check the state regulations for the area you will be hunting in. In Colorado, ATVs are only allowed on marked motor vehicle trails. You can get a short distance off the trail, I believe (something like 200-300 feet). I've hunted elk for two years in Colorado and will go again this year. I took my Arctic Cat 500 the first year and it's unlikely I'll ever take it again. I just didn't use it all. You can't use it to take yourself out into the deep woods and you can't use it to pack an animal out unless there is a trail very, very near by. I prefer to hunt where there are no trails, so for me, the ATV was almost useless. I did use it to run from our campsite down to an outhouse that was about 0.5 miles away.
I did see some people road hunting using ATVs and if you like that sort of thing, then you should do it. If you like to be alone in the woods, the ATV is not going to help you out much. A good set of legs and lungs will be much more beneficial.

Bill the Dog

Old 07-10-2003, 04:34 PM
Pro Rider