Hunting, Trapping, Game Management Discuss Bow and Fire Arm Hunting.

Won a TC Omega....Any Input?

Search this Thread

Old 09-18-2005, 02:03 AM
Pro Rider
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Won a TC Omega....Any Input?

My completely non-hunting uncle won a Thompson/Center Omega .50 cal Muzzleloader in some kind of drawing and gave me first dibs. I'm new to muzzleloading, but if I like the way this thing shoots I may make it my weapon of choice for firearm season in Illinois (we can't use rifles). I've heard you can get these things accurate out to 300 yards? My question really is this though, is the Omega all it's cracked up to be? I've seen tons of advertisements on TV and in magazines and never really payed close attention, but it sounded like they were trying to impress upon people that it was THE easiest to operate and clean black-powder firearm available. Is this true or even close to true? Will I be impressed enough with the accuracy and range of this muzzleloader to give up my multiple-shot abilities of a slug-gun for it?

Old 09-18-2005, 09:01 PM
Weekend Warrior

You will like the the TC i have one. You will want to use triple 777 powder in pellets for easy loading i use 130 grain 2 50 and 1 30 pellet and a 250 Tc shockwave and i getting good groups at 250 yards . I use to use shotguns now their a thing of the past good luck with it

Old 09-18-2005, 11:15 PM
Pro Rider

I've heard a lot of people talk about Pyrodex. Why the Triple 777? Is this gun really as easy to clean and operate as they make it sound?

Old 09-18-2005, 11:50 PM
Pro Rider

Why can't you use rifles there for firearms season? That seams weird to me.

Old 09-19-2005, 12:11 AM
Weekend Warrior