Kawasaki Discussions about Kawasaki ATVs.

Grip Heaters

Search this Thread

Old 09-03-2002, 12:34 AM
Range Rover
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hola mi amigos. Caca pasa, taco bell.

Anyway I'm getting ready to order a set of grip heaters to install before hunting season this year. I've found ones made by Kimpex, and by moose utility. They differ in price by only $4, so I was wondering if anyone had any experience with either one, or could recomend a better set. I'm planning on using them with a set of the over the handlebar type mitts, so I'm not installing a thumb warmer.

I've never used grip heaters before, so how much of a difference do they make? How long do they take to heat up? Do they get too hot to use w/o a pair of gloves to act as insulators? And lastly, as I think I'll need replacement grips, does the prairie 650 use 7/8" grips, or another size?

Thanks,
AJ

Old 09-03-2002, 12:55 AM
Pro Rider

the stock grips are VERY hard to get off. I don't know of one person that was able to do this with out replacing the grips. I run kimpex I don't know about the moose utility. I use my thumb warmer more than grips. In Nova Scotia the heated handle bars are a must from Sept to June expecially at night. I don't know the size of the grips but your dealer should, if not just order the kawi ones.

Old 09-03-2002, 08:53 PM
Pro Rider

I've gotten the grips off in one piece on 2 different machines by shoving a small screwdriver in between the grip and the bar. I keep working the screwdriver all the way around the grip until it breaks free. ATV's with thumb throttles take a 7/8" grip.
If I were only going to get one unit and were using mitts, I would get the thumb warmer and not the hand warmer.