Kawasaki Discussions about Kawasaki ATVs.

bought 03 prairie 650---advice and qestions

Search this Thread

Old 02-26-2003, 08:36 PM
Trailblazer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default bought 03 prairie 650---advice and qestions

new to the forum and to atv's........I've been riding sportbikes for 15 years now and got into dirt bikes a while back also. nothing can ever replace my bikes, but I wanted to give atv's a try just for a different kick. Just bought a new prairie 650 and wanted to know if anyone out there might have some advice for me......never owned a kawasaki.....always owned mostly yamahas and some suzukis. got an R1 and a yz250f right now. I wanted an atv to use for hunting and just playing around in the woods or whatever.....taking the girl along etc. just wondering if anyone out there might be able to shed some light on this particular atv (i.e. pros, cons, maintainence problems, personal experiences etc.) Also wanted to know what this "black spring" is I keep reading so much about. Anything would be appreciated.

Old 02-26-2003, 08:55 PM
Pro Rider

your gonna want to get that black spring ASAP. it is a clutch spring that goes in the driven (secondary) pulley that puts more side pressure on the belt to make it last longer, it also helps out alot if you have bigger tires. when you install the black spring your gonna want to tighten the belt so it will last much longer. you may want to book mark nyroc's site (not sure of the address but you can find a post by him and take a look) it helped me out more than a few times.if you plan on doing alot of your own work than you should pick up a service manual from your dealer or from buykawasaki.com.
hope you enjoy it! i sure have!

Old 02-26-2003, 09:03 PM
Trailblazer