Kids Quads Discussions about Kid's Quads and other ATV's.

Carb question

Search this Thread

Old 04-11-2005, 09:28 AM
Trailblazer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Carb question

I recently converted to the single throttle cable and eliminated the oil pump. I have had a hard time getting it started since. Yesterday to get it started, I took off the air filter box and sprayed carb cleaner in the carburetor. It started (after jacking the rear wheels up to relieve throttle pressure?). I put the air filter box back on, I let it sit for a while, rode it and it ran fine. Two problems: I don't wnat to do this to (cold) start it each time. 2.) When it is running idle, it sounds like its choking making a put, put, put sound. Can anyone provide any information. I am new at this, trying to get some experience and of course the dealer has a 2 week back log!!!!!
Thanks,

BTW, it's a Predator 90 w/no major mods.

Old 04-11-2005, 10:33 AM
Range Rover
Default Carb question

Did you rejet it after removeing the oil injection? You will have to make a few adjustments as well.

Old 04-11-2005, 11:02 AM
T Rex Rider
What irritates me is!
Those 6-packs work pretty good.
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Carb question

Originally posted by: newnick
Did you rejet it after removeing the oil injection? You will have to make a few adjustments as well.
Don't see what rejetting would have to do with the start up unless you change the pilot?

May be a clogged pilot jet or the fuel and idle screws need adjusted. You can try cleaning the carb. And something I learned the hard way, make sure you let the machine warm to normal operating temps b4 setting the fuel and idle screw.

Old 04-11-2005, 12:24 PM
Range Rover
Default Carb question

Just curious if after you eliminated the pump if you plugged the little oil line that goes to the carb.

Old 04-11-2005, 03:05 PM
Range Rover
Default Carb question